California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, December 22, 2016) The leading Lightning Sprint Car club west of the Mississippi, the California Light Sprint Car Series, has released it’s 2017 racing schedule. The most ambitious schedule in the 24-season history of the club includes 19 races at seven different tracks. In addition, the CLS is also pleased to announce that is it part of the brand new USAC National Lightning Sprint Car Series.

For the second season in a row, the Ventura Raceway will be the home track for the CLS. Located adjacent to the beach on the Ventura County Fairgrounds, the longtime racing oval will host a series leading eight races in 2017. The “West’s Fastest 1/3 Mile High Banked Clay Oval,” the Bakersfield Speedway, will welcome the CLS four times. The Imperial Valley Raceway in El Centro and Riverside County’s famous Perris Auto Speedway will each host two CLS races. Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, the Placerville Speedway and the Santa Maria Raceway will all see the CLS come to town one time.

The season will kick off at Imperial Valley with races on March 11th and 12th during the annual California Midwinter Fair. The doubleheader will pay $1,000.00 to win each day and $150.00 to start.

The popular “Civil War Series,” which matches the cars and drivers of the CLS and Northern California’s Bay Cities Racing Association (BCRA), will be returning in 2017 with four races. Two of the races, Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico on May 5th and Placerville Speedway the following night, will be on the BCRA’s home turf. The other two will be on CLS tracks. The first will be at Bakersfield on March 25th and the other at Ventura on October 7th.

As has been the case for several years, the CLS will be part of two major events at Perris Auto Speedway. The Salute to Indy on Memorial Day weekend and the California Racer’s Hall of Fame Night on August 26th.

For the first time, ever, the United States Auto Club (USAC) will be joining forces with Lightning Sprint Car series’ from around the nation. Participating clubs will come under the umbrella of the “USAC Lightning Sprints National Championship.” At the end of the campaign, the top 10 in national points will be paid in cash and contingency awards. The inaugural National Champion will receive $3,000.00.

“With the many clubs across the country to be unified in rules and procedures, it’s a pleasure to create a program that enables many to pursue a championship with USAC,” said multi-time USAC National racing champion and now National Series Director Levi Jones in a recent USAC press release.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair
March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair
March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA
April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA
May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA
May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National
June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National
July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
July 22: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National
August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National
September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA
October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michmowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768