California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, March 7, 2017)
The leading lightning sprint car club west of the Mississippi, the California Light Sprint Car Series, is set to begin its 24th consecutive season of racing this Saturday and Sunday, March 11th and 12th, during the California Mid-Winter Fair at the Imperial Raceway in Imperial, California. Saturday’s race will begin at 5:00 PM and Sunday’s show will start at 2:00. The California & Arizona Dwarf Cars will be in action each day.

Heading the CLS entry list is Lomita, California’s Bobby Michnowicz. Last year the veteran driver won his third straight CLS championship and his fourth in the past five years, thus becoming the all-time leader in CLS titles. Over the past three years, Michnowicz has won two of the four main events during the Mid-Winter Fair. 2010 CLS champion Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley, California and Upland, California’s Alex Grigoreas have won the other two. In addition to Michnowicz and Kramer, another past series champion will also be in action on Saturday and Sunday. After nearly a decade out of the cockpit, 1999 and 2008 champ Brent Sexton of Lakeside, California will be making a comeback.

One of the favorites heading into this weekend’s races is 33-year-old Jeff Dyer of Victorville, California. Dyer, who won two-main events last season including the season closer at the Ventura Raceway on October 29th, just graduated from the California Highway Patrol Academy in Sacramento last Friday.

“We are expecting 24 or 25 cars,” said Michnowicz, who also runs the day to day operations of the club. “We have some more new guys coming in this year including a couple graduates of quarter-midget racing. We are really expecting a good year.”

This weekend’s races will be two complete shows that will pay $1,000.00 to win and $150.00 start the main events.

On the verge of the new campaign, the CLS is pleased to announce a brand-new sponsor. Outlaw Wings of Newalla, Oklahoma has recently come on board and is now the “Official Wing” of the California Lightning Sprint Car Series. Formerly Airflow Racing Products, Outlaw Wings was founded in 1988 and produces wings for any type of racecar. Some of the drivers Outlaw has sponsored in the past include Sammy Swindell and Mark & Kraig Kinser. For more information on Outlaw Wings, please visit their website at the following link or call: 405-474-9353.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair
March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair
March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA
April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA
May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA
May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National
June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National
July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National
August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National
September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA
October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768