California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, March 21, 2017) The California Lightning Sprint Car Series season continues this Saturday night, March 25th, at one of California’s longest running oval tracks, the Bakersfield Speedway. Joining the CLS will be Late Models, Sportmods, Hobby Stocks and Mini Dwarfs. Spectator gates will open at 4:00 PM with racing at 6:00.

Saturday’s race will be the first of four for the CLS in 2017 at the track locals affectionately refer to as “The Okie Bowl.” It will also be the first race of the three race “Civil War Series” pitting the CLS against Northern California’s BCRA (Bay Cities Racing Association). The other two dates for the series are May 5th and 6th at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico and the Placerville Speedway.

Heading the field for Saturday’s race at the Kern County 1/3 of a mile-high banked clay oval is 34-year-old Jarret Kramer of Spring Valley. The 2010 series champion, Kramer won the CLS season opener during the California Mid-Winter Fair at the Imperial Raceway two weeks ago. Coupled with a second-place finish to four-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita in the second race at Imperial, Kramer carries a 20-point lead over 2016 CLS Rookie of the Year Cody Nigh of Camarillo in the championship standings. Lakeside’s Brent Sexton, Jeff Dyer of Victorville and Michnowicz round out the top five in points.

Last year Michnowicz and Madera’s Charlie Caraccilo split the four main events at Bakersfield with two wins each. Over the past four seasons, Michnowicz has been the dominate CLS driver at the track coming out victorious in nine of the 16 races.

Other dates at Bakersfield in 2017 are April 22nd, June 17th and September 23rd.

For driving directions, the Bakersfield Speedway is located at 5001 N. Chester Ext, 93308. The track phone number is: (661) 393-3373.

After Saturday, the CLS will take next week before heading to its home track, the Ventura Raceway, for the first time of the year on April 8th.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2017 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 271
2. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 251
3. Brent Sexton – Lakeside – 250
4. Jeff Dyer – Victorville – 248
5. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita -226
6. Aiden Lange – Lakewood – 222
7. Wyatt Downing – 203 – Lakewood
8. Eric Greco – 183 – Palmdale
9. Ken Coulston – 165 – Bermuda Dunes
10. James Heling – 164 – San Bernardino

2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer
March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz
March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA
April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA
May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA
May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National
June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National
July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National
August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National
September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA
October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768