California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, May 2, 2017) The California Lightning Sprint Car Series will make its longest journey of the season this weekend when it ventures north for rounds two and three of the Civil War Series against the Bay Cities Racing Association. Friday night the two clubs will clash at the Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico and Saturday they will go at it again at the Placerville Speedway.

Current CLS point leader and 2010 series champ Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley won the first round of the Civil War Series at the Bakersfield Speedway on March 25th. Kramer was followed to the Bakersfield checkered by CLS regular Cody Nigh of Camarillo. BCRA drivers Craig Dillard of Oakdale and Dakota Albright of Waterford finished third and fourth. Ventura’s Bruce Douglass, another CLS regular from Ventura, took fifth.

Powered by two wins and two second place finishes in the first four races of the year, Kramer, who celebrated his 35th birthday a couple of weeks ago, leads Nigh by 44-points in the CLS season long championship standings. Jeff “Ponch” Dyer, a rookie California Highway Patrol officer who resides in Bermuda Dunes, is third in the title hunt. Second year driver Aiden Lange of Lakewood and Lomita’s Bobby Michnowicz, who won the last race two weeks ago at Bakersfield, round out the top five.

Ken Coulston of Bermuda Dunes is eighth overall in the standings and is the series leading rookie.

For fans wishing to attend this week’s races, Silver Dollar Speedway is located at 2357 Fair Street in Chico, CA (95928) and the track phone number is: (530) 891-6535. The Silver Dollar Speedway website can be found at the following link: Placerville Speedway is nestled in the foothills of Northern California at 100 Placerville Dr. in Placerville (95667). The track phone is: (530) 344-7592 and the website is available at the following link:

After this weekend’s doubleheader, the CLS will be off until the annual “Salute to Indy” at Perris Auto Speedway on May 27th.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2017 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 545
2. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 501
3. Jeff Dyer - Victorville – 439
4. Aiden Lange – Lakewood – 436
5. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita - 392
6. Brent Sexton - Lakeside – 379
7. Dan Hillberg – Placentia - 368
8. Ken Coulston – Bermuda Dunes - 365
8. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood - 365
10. Eric Greco – Palmdale - 361

2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer
March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz
March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA – Jarrett Kramer
April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out
April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA
May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA
May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National
June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National
July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National
August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National
September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA
October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768