California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, July 26, 2017) The USAC/California Lightning Sprint Car Series will be making one it’s most popular stops of the year at the Ventura Raceway on opening night of the annual Ventura County Fair on Wednesday night August 2nd. The first green flag of the night will wave at 6:00 PM.

Before and after the races fans can enjoy rides, delicious fair food, music and displays on the picturesque fairgrounds that is a stone’s throw away from the Pacific Ocean. In addition to the CLS, the IMCA Modifieds, Dwarf Cars, Focus Midgets and a Demolition Derby will all be part of the fast-moving show.

Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer comes into the fair race as the series point leader. He took the lead at the first race of the year at El Centro and has led every inch of the way. The 35-year-old will carry a 64-point advantage into the fair race over Lakewood teen Aiden Lange. Local Cody Nigh of Camarillo is third and trails Kramer by 87-points. Lomita’s Bobby Michnowicz, who won the fair race last year, is fourth and Palmdale’s Eric Greco, who is contesting his first full season with the CLS, is fifth.

Local Cody Nigh of Camarillo, the 2016 CLS Rookie of the Year, enters the Ventura County Fair race third in points. Please give photo credit to Doug Allen.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2017 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 1297
2. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 1233
3. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 1210
4. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 1116
5. Eric Greco – Palmdale - 1047
6. Chris Dickey – Murrieta – 985
7. Wyatt Downing Lakewood - 890
8. Brent Sexton – Lakeside - 812
9. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena – 801
10. Dan Hillberg - Placentia – 773

2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer
March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz
March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA – Jarrett Kramer
April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out
April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Chris Dickey
May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Zach Keefe
May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – A.J. Bender
June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Charlie Caraccilo
June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National - Chris Dickey
July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Charlie Caraccilo
August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National
August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National
September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA
October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
November 18: Bakersfield Speedway – Western States Lightning Championship USAC National
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768