California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, May 1, 2018) After one week off the USAC/California Lightning Sprint Car Series will be back in action this Saturday, May 5th, at its home track, Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway. Joining the CLS on the “Cinco de Mayo” program will be the USAC/CRA Sprint Cars and VRA Dwarf Cars. Spectator gates will open at 3:00 P.M. with racing at 5:30.

After two rainouts to begin the 2018 campaign, the CLS will be racing for the third time in four weeks on Saturday. The twice-delayed season opener took place at Ventura on April 14th and five-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita took home the win. Two weeks ago at the second race of the year, Lakewood teenager Aiden Lange outdistanced the field in Bakersfield for his first CLS win. The victory came just two weeks after he won his first ever Lightning Sprint Car main event when he bested the pack in the Bay Cities Racing Association event at the Placerville Speedway.

Going into Saturday’s race at Ventura, Michnowicz has a 26-point lead in the championship standings over Bermuda Dunes based California Highway Patrol officer Jeff Dyer. Ventura local Bruce Douglass, a youthful 66-year-old, is third in the standings and only trails Dyer by four-points. San Diego County drivers Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley and Brent Sexton of Lakeside are currently fourth and fifth in the championship standings. Kramer was the 2010 CLS champion. Sexton won the series titles in 1999 and 2008.

Grant Sexton of Lakeside, the youngest son of the two-time champion, currently leads the “Rookie of Year” chase and is ranked ninth overall in the championship standings.

The Ventura Raceway is conveniently located just off of the 101 on the Ventura County Fairgrounds. The track address is 10 West Harbor Boulevard (93001). The track’s website is at the following link The office phone number is (805) 648- RACE.

2018 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Point Standings
1. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – 276
2. Jeff Dyer – Bermuda Dunes, CA – 250
3. Bruce Douglass – Ventura, CA – 246
4. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 232
5. Brent Sexton – Lakeside, CA – 223
6. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 206
7. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 175
8. Pat Kelley - Chino, CA – 163
9. Grant Sexton - Lakeside, CA – 157
10. Eric Greco - Palmdale, CA - 153

March 17 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Rained Out
March 24 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out
April 14 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
April 21 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Aiden Lange
May 5 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National
May 19th – Barona Speedway – Jim Squire Memorial
May 26 – Perris Auto Speedway – USAC National – Salute to Indy
June 16 – Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA
July 7 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National
July 21 – Santa Maria Raceway – Civil War vs BCRA
August 1 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Ventura County Fair
August 18 – Perris Auto Speedway – USAC National – California Racer’s Hall of Fame Night
September 8 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
September 21 – Placerville Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA
September 22 – Placerville Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA
October 6 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National
October 27 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National
November 17- Bakersfield Speedway USAC National with USAC National and Western Midgets

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its historic 25th season in 2018, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at


1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768